Davalynn Spencer: Summer Brides

DavalynnDavalynn Spencer returns to 1886 Colorado with The Columbine Bride, part of The 12 Brides of Summer Collection, on September 1.

The Columbine Bride is a sequel to her Christmas novella and features a character who demanded his own story.

“While I wrote The Snowbound Bride, I became intrigued by a secondary character, Buck, the uncle who helped raise my hero, Nate Horne. Buck needed a story of his own – to see if he would practice what he preached to his nephew when faced with the same dilemma.”

Her Christmas story ended with a December wedding and the sequel picks up five months later and continues through the summer. Ara and Nate are married and pregnant–everyone fears she’s carrying twins because of her size.

“But the biggest change is in Buck who – well, I won’t give that away.”

Enter Lucy Powell and her two small children and watch Buck’s world turn up-side-down.



Lucy is struggling to get over her late husband’s freak accident at their ranch last summer. She wrangled a teaching job to support her family, but the school year is over and it’s time to return to the scene of their heartbreak.

Can she and her young children manage?

And if not, how will they survive?

“Need” is the driving idea behind The Columbine Bride. Need and how God meets it,” Davalynn said.

“It’s funny, but I become very attached to my characters when I’m working on a story. I feel I know them better than many actual people in my day-to-day life.

But this one? Oh, I’m especially fond of Buck and Lucy and the depth of their feelings.”

Since Davalynn lives near the setting for The Columbine Bride, she didn’t have to do much additional research.

She did, however, hear a story that worked its way into the novella.

“I had an interesting conversation with a horse woman who grew up around here near Cañon City, Colorado. She talked about “limbing” (cutting the limbs off) a fallen tree, then dragging it out from the woods on horseback.”

You’ll have to read The Columbine Bride to find out the importance of that little fact.

You can purchase The 12 Brides of Summer Collection #4 featuring Vickie’s The Country Fair Bride, Diana Brandmeyer’s The Honey Bride and Davalynn Spencer’s The Columbine Bride through ebook retailers found on the 12Brides.com website.

Who is Davalynn Spencer?Davalynn Spencer

Davalynn Spencer writes inspirational Western romance complete with rugged cowboys, their challenges, and their loves.

Her work has finaled for the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, the Selah, and the Holt Medallion. Davalynn teaches writing at Pueblo Community College and at various writing workshops.

She and her own handsome cowboy make their home on Colorado’s Front Range with a Queensland heeler named Blue.

Connect with Davalynn online at www.davalynnspencer.com and https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDavalynnSpencer


Snowbound women and Columbines make for two splendid Colorado brides. Click to Tweet

Limbing a tree to win a bride? Click to Tweet

The schoolmarm and the rancher, with flowers and children to boot! Click to Tweet


Available ONLY in select Walmart stores


Some select Walmart stores carried physical copies of Old West Summer Brides–a four-novella collection of stories from this series featuring the 12 Brides of Summer novellas written by Mary Connealy, Susan Page Davis, Davalynn Spencer and Miralee Ferrell.

The ebook versions of The 12 Brides of Summer are available in four ebooks with three stories in each.


The entire collection will be released in summer 2016 in a deluxe edition book with actual pages.

And for those looking for a complete collection of The 12 Brides of Christmas novellas, they’ll be published in one book complete book October 2015, are available now for preorder at http://amzn.to/1FclW0u.


Releasing October 1, 2015. You can preorder at

Blog Post # 500

Blog post # 500

This is blog post # 500. As in, the five hundredth post I’ve posted. But, forgive me for indulging today. I’m celebrating. When I began this blog in January 2011, I wrote for the love of sharing my thoughts and experiences and also for promoting my first novella, The Dogtrot Christmas. I had little idea, […]

Continue Reading

Diana Brandmeyer: Summer Brides

Diana Brandmeyer

Diana Brandmeyer’s The Honey Bride is part of the fourth 12 Brides of Summer novella series releasing September 1. Set in the spring following Diana’s The Festive Bride, it follows the fortunes of a young couple in 1887 Trenton, Illinois. Kate’s life spirals into difficulties when her father is killed during a severe storm. She […]

Continue Reading

The Value of Music and a Girl’s Emotions

What’s the value of music for a girl’s emotions? Everything. We watched the Masterpiece Theater version of A Room with a View last night and laughed every time Lucy Honeychurch turned to the piano to vent her emotions. It was an uneasy laugh–we recognizing aspects of our past. My sister-in-law told me once she only […]

Continue Reading

Margaret Brownley: Summer Brides

Margaret Brownley

The Dog Days of Summer Bride is best-selling author Margaret Brownley’s contribution to The 12 Brides of Summer Collection. The third group of novellas will launch August 1 and will feature Miralee Ferrell’s The Dogwood Blossom Bride and Pam Hillman’s The Lumberjack’s Bride. Unlike many of the other’s The Dog Days of Summer Bride is […]

Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: